Baked Meatballs and BFFs

This week is my first annual 39th birthday!  Thanking God for our many blessings this past year and praying that the next would bring health, wisdom, and provision for our family.

I am determined to rock 39. And hopefully my skinny jeans once this meal gets worked off!  (But tonight I’m in yoga pants.  Because I can.)

My personal chef, aka Mom, made meatballs and mashed potatoes for my birthday dinner on Sunday. Yum-O. This was comfort food at its best growing up and she made 90 of them for family dinner. That’s right… 90 meatballs. And I didn’t take a picture because I was too busy eating them. So. Darn. Good. Thanks Mom!!

Mom’s Meatballs (makes 20 meatballs)

1 1/2 lbs ground chuck

1/2 cup dry breadcrumbs

1 egg

1/2 c milk

1/4 chopped onion

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp dry mustard

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 tsp sage

1/8 tsp garlic powder

1 T worchestshire

2 small cans Campbells tomato soup

1 soup can of water

Mix together everything but the soup and the water and form into 1-inch meatballs.  Place in a 9×13 pan and pour tomato soup and water on top.  Bake at 350 for 1 1/2 hours (cover for first 30 min) until no longer pink.   If you want it a little thicker just uncover a little faster.  At our house we eat them with mashed potatoes.  Weird I know, but it totally works.  You can also bake them without the tomato sauce on a baking pan and then freeze them for a quick meal during the week. Sometimes mom throws them (pre-cooked) in the crockpot with a bottle of BBQ sauce.

While I recover from my food coma, I’m crazy excited about this weekend: WIUGW14. For those of you not named Kathy, Laura, or Andi, that’s Western Illinois University Girls Weekend 14. Frankly it has nothing to do with WIU other than that’s where I met 3 of my favorite people. We get together for a weekend every fall and this year we are meeting in Chicago.

I. Cannot. Wait.

IMG_2513

Special thanks to my BFF Beth for the super cute birthday card and for not giving up on me all those years I cried through church camp when we were kids.  You deserve a medal.  (And I will use BFF no matter how old I am.  Because we all stay 12 years old in some ways!)

Leave a Reply

